ART, CLASSIC YAY! LA

Classic Yay! LA: Fantastic Flights

0 Comments 18 June 2017

A compilation of the best Yay! LA pieces featuring artists who dabble in mythic themes and otherworldly realms.

by Daniel Barron

 

 

This coming week the revamped Yay! LA will begin the rollout of its first new issue, “Myth.” I’m very excited about the coverage and hope we can set a strong precedent for forthcoming editions. This site has always been a labor of love and I think that care and attention will be reflective in what’s coming up.

As an aperitif, take a look through this archive of some of the best myth and fantasy-centric articles we’ve run in the site’s five-year history.

 

Last Summer’s multimedia Yay! Legends Every Day series resulted in nearly 200 original works from artists around the globe.

 

Corina St. Martin

 

Yay! Legends Every Day – Holy Rabbit Hole!

The otherworlds of fantasy fiction as rendered by Kat Philbin, Michael Stiles, Aubrey Hedrick, Corina St. Martin, Christiane Vex, Belinda Morris, Meredith Dillman, Ashley Villers, Iris Compiet, Baraciel Almada, Max Bare, Labyrinth, Monika Ptok-Byard, Jenn Shieh, Cora Crimson, Art Grafunkel, Holly Morningstar, Allison Langston, Cristina Tillotson, Tracy Lewis, and Tiffany Toland-Scott.

Read here.

 

Evgeniya Golik

 

Yay! Legends Every Day – Quest Love

Epic fantasy-inspired works by MadHatta, Soren Valdemar Byrial, Bella Harris, Laurie McClave, Ashly Lovett, Samantha Holt, Melisa Des Rosiers, Lauren Patton, Evgeniya Golik, Lara Dann, John-Paul Kim, Kamille Freske, Leonie O’Moore, Nick Lacke, and Erika Taguchi-Newton.

Read here.

 

Erin Gallagher

 

Yay! Legends Every Day – Wild Wild Westeros

The realms of George R. R. Martin are brought to life by GMONIK, Stefano Flonta, Erin Gallagher, Katerina Koukiotis, and Christina Mott.

Read here.

 

Weshoyot Alvitre

 

Yay! Legends Every Day – Rock Me, Miyazaki

The magical worlds of Hayao Miyazaki and Studio Ghibli are given new life by Mary Syring, Katerina Koukiotis, Gretchen Lewis, Stephen Bode, Mike Esparza, Holly Morningstar, Lai Xu, David Camisa, Michael Stiles, Weshoyot Alvitre, Aubrey Hedrick, Meredith Dillman, Ann Lim, and Carolina Seth.

Read here.

 

 

Soey Milk

 

“The Modern Eden Gallery Brings ‘Fiction’ Alive” (Published 6/24/13)

by Daniel Barron

Artists visually interpreted classic and popular works of literature for the Modern Eden Gallery’s second annual Portrait Invitational. Includes select artist commentary.

Read here.

 

Rebecca Leveille-Guay

 

Modern Eden Gallery Journeys to “Olympus” (Published 6/16/14)

by Daniel Barron

In 2014, The Modern Eden Gallery’s Portrait Invitational series tackled the Greek pantheon. View the whole set along with select artist commentary.

Read here.

 

Martin Hsu

 

“‘Twice-Told Tales’ Enchant The Flower Pepper Gallery” (Published 1/18/14)

by Daniel Barron

Selections from the Flower Pepper Gallery’s 2014 fairy tale-themed exhibition, along with artist commentary.

Read here.

 

 

 

“Brianna Angelakis: Force of Nature” (Published 3/31/14)

by Daniel Barron

Prior to her 2014 solo show, Florida-based visionary Brianna Angelakis has a spirited discussion on feminism and literature.

Quote: “Have you seen my falling women paintings? The series is titled, ‘Wonders of the Invisible World.’ Those were inspired by a piece of feminist literature, the novel, The Awakening by Kate Chopin, which is one of my favorite books of all time. At the end of her novel, the female protagonist commits suicide, which sounds really terrible, but it’s her way of escaping from patriarchal society. I mean, these women didn’t get to do anything, they just sat around in their houses, you know?”

Read here.

 

“The Wild Ambition of J.A.W. Cooper” (Published 8/3/15)
by Daniel Barron

J.A.W. Cooper talked living internationally, creating worlds, and her love of nature in advance of her 2015 solo show “Viscera” at La Luz de Jesus.

Quote: “My parents are freshwater ecologists and they specialize in invertebrates, which is basically stream insects. My mother does species analysis, identification and scientific illustration, and my father does analysis as well and is also a professor and a researcher, so between professor exchanges, sabbaticals and traveling for research, we lived for three years in Kenya- in Nairobi- Sweden, Ireland, and did a lot of general traveling. There were long periods of time where we were just moving every couple of weeks, and I loved it.”

Read here.

 

 

 

 

“The Thrilling Fantasy of Billy Norrby ” (Published 8/11/15)

by Daniel Barron

Swedish-born painter Billy Norrby described his inspirations, themes in his work, and the economy of storytelling.

Quote: “I loved comics and had many favorite artists, as a Swede I also had the fortune of having easy access to European comics such as 2000AD, Heavy Metal and the French and Belgian adventures in the vein of Tin Tin and Asterix. I also dreamt of working with movie special effects like Ray Harryhausen or Rick Baker. I wanted to paint like James Gurney and Ralph McQuarrie. My favorites kept alternating but it was usually within the comic book or film realm.”

Read here.

 

 

 

Stephanie Inagaki: Metamorphosis” (Published 4/21/14)

by Daniel Barron

Stephanie Inagaki talked her heritage and inspirations in advance of her 2014 Century Guild show.

Quote: “I had always straddled the fence when it comes to identity. It was Japan inside my house but America on the outside. I was in all honors and AP courses but my high school friends were punks and goths. I was the only goth in student government and holding an administrative role.”

Read here.

 

“Dreams and Duality: The Art of Elisa Ang” (Published 8/27/15)

by Daniel Barron

Long Beach artist Elisa Ang discussed exploring themes of duality and cultural identity in her work.

Quote: “I think personally I have always been drawn to things that are, and this is how I describe it in my mind, ‘other.’ Other places, other people, other times than what I see and encounter in my daily life. Being half-Asian, specifically half-Chinese, I have this distant connection to that which is ‘other’ and I take a lot of pride in this.”

Read here.

 

 

 

“The Dark Dreams of Catherine Bursill Moore” (Published 11/4/15)

by Daniel Barron

Bay Area artist Catherine Bursill Moore talked growing up on the fringe, formative interests in the macabre, and putting together her first solo show.

Quote: “My best friend and I made a DIY Ouija board using cutout cardboard with letters written on them arranged in a circle and a glass in the middle. We would spend hours in my walk-in closet ‘talking’ to the spirit world.”

Read here.

 

 

 

Chrystal Chan: Magic Eye” (Published 6/13/14)

by Daniel Barron

Chrystal Chan talked using her faith as a guide towards enchanting worlds.

Quote: “How I produce my art usually begins with playing piano. I play and then I worship, pray, meditate, and then from that I usually see visions that God gives me. The visions are usually things that answer something, maybe it’s personal, or I’m asking a question. I feel God shows these images for me to paint.”

Read here.

 

 

 

“The Fantastic Beasts of Emi Slade” (Published 10/25/15)

by Daniel Barron

Michigan-based sculptor and taxidermist Emi Slade spoke of her affinity for all manner of strange creatures.

Quote: “For me, taxidermy was something I was both pushed into and pulled towards. I’m a biologist at heart so the process makes sense technically, and the challenging and controversial nature attracts me like a magnet. Also, too many people gave me their dead pets convinced I’d ‘do great things’ with them.”

Read here.

 

 

 

“Illustrative Enchantment: The Art of Jensine Eckwall” (Published 10/23/15)

by Sydney Walters

Brooklyn-based illustrative storyteller and comic book artist Jensine Eckwall uses powerful symbolism to evoke emotion through art.

Read here.

 

 

 

Edith Lebeau: Magical Maven” (Published 10/14/15)

by Sydney Walters

Whimsical and dream-like narratives haunt the imagination of Montreal resident Edith Lebeau. Then she makes them a reality.

Read here.

 

Print Friendly

Comments

comments

Powered by Facebook Comments

Author

- who has written 419 posts on Yay! LA | Arts & Culture Magazine.

Rudderless college graduate Daniel Barron founded Yay! LA Magazine on a love of writing, passion for the arts, and a firm belief that people really like talking about themselves. He contributed to a number of publications, including LA Music Blog and the defunct The Site Unscene, before deciding to cover arts and entertainment the way he wanted to read it. He works as a freelance writer and digital PR consultant in his current home of Los Angeles. Follow him on Twitter at @YayDanielBarron.

Contact the author

Share your view

Post a comment

© 2017 Yay! LA | Arts & Culture Magazine. Powered by WordPress.

Daily Edition Theme by WooThemes - Premium WordPress Themes